I have been writing about gardening for awhile now (starting with last year’s inaugural blog “A Half Acre of Paradise”), so I thought it would be nice to let you all in on what I am growing this year.  By Memorial Day 2010, I was enjoying radishes from my garden as well as several herbs (cilantro, chives, tarragon and thyme).  In just a matter of days I would also be enjoying Romaine Lettuce.  Last year, our spring got just enough rain and sunshine to afford me with the opportunity to have pretty much everything in by the middle of May.  This year has been quite a different story.

Romaine Lettuce

The program has undergone name changes, personnel and management turnovers as well as funding and support challenges.  The fact that it is still in operation today and growing bigger and providing better services is a testimonial to the network of supporters and volunteers that truly believe that the path to a better Detroit is lined with gardens on both sides of the street.  So with my early start and armed with a supply of cold weather crops (courtesy of the Garden Resource Program) I was more than ready to start the 2011 garden.  Then the rains came!  I could do the official check of the number of rainy days and cold “non-spring-like” weather but it is easy to say that April leading into May was the second wettest spring in the Detroit area since they started to keep records of those types of things.