Many people have opined on what a friend is.  With Thanksgiving approaching and the opportunity to reflect on memories of family and friendships in the air, I thought I would share a few quotes or statements from some near-famous or famous people as to what friendship really is…or isn’t?  Now, I have got to tell you that I shared this blog with a friend before I published it and she said all of the quotes were very nice, but she wanted to know how I defined being a friend or what characteristics were necessary to be a friend of mine?  I quickly realized that, as a friend, I did different things for different people and I am sure that’s how I pick my friends.  No two people are exactly alike and therefore it was virtually impossible to nail it down to one or two traits.  I think I ask for and give a lot of different things as a friend, so in a way the diversity of these quotes probably reflect my personal behavior in being a friend and choosing friends.  Lastly, I must say that I have some tremendous friends, males and females.  Our love and support for each other is boundless.  I have a lot of friends but only a few really, really good ones.  I am so blessed to be able say to all of them…thanks for being a friend and for allowing me to be theirs too!

“Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. 

Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow.

 Just walk beside me and be my friend.”

-Albert Camus

 

“The truth is, everyone is going to hurt you.  You just got to find the ones worth suffering for.”

-Bob Marley

 

“A friend is one that knows you as you are, understands where you have been, accepts what you have become, and still, gently allows you to grow.”

-William Shakespeare

 

“Life is an awful, ugly place to not have a best friend.”

-Sarah Dessen, Someone Like You

 

“We’ll be friends forever, won’t we, Pooh?’  asked Piglet.

Even longer,’ Pooh answered.”

-A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

 

“What is a friend?  A single soul dwelling in two bodies.”

-Aristotle

 

“How many slams in an old screen door?  Depends on how loud you shut it.  How many slices in a bread?  Depends on how thin you cut it.  How much good in a day?  Depends on how good you live ‘em.  How much love inside a friend?  Depends how much you give ‘em.”

-Shel Silverstein

 

“Each friend represents a world in us,

 a world possibly not born until they arrive,

and it’s only by this meeting that a new world is born.”

-Anais Nin, The Diary of Anais Nin, Vol.1: 1931-1934

 

“Well, it seems to me that the best relationships-the ones that last-are frequently the ones rooted in friendship.  You know, one day you look at a person and you see something more than you did the night before.  Like a switch has been flicked somewhere.  And the person who was just a friend is…suddenly the only person you can ever imagine yourself with.”

-Gillian Anderson

 

“The glory of friendship is not the outstretched hand, not the kindly smile, nor the joy of companionship; it is the spiritual inspiration that comes to one when you discover that someone else believes in you and is willing to trust you with a friendship.”

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

“Can miles really separate you from friends…

If you want to be with someone you love,

 aren’t you already there?”

-Richard Bach

 

“A good friend can tell you what is the matter with you in a minute. 

He may not be such a good friend after telling.”

-Arthur Brisbane

 

“When I say it’s you that I like, I’m talking about that part of you that knows that life is more than anything you can ever see, hear or touch.  That deep part of you that allows you to stand for those things without humankind can survive.  Love that conquers hate, peace that rises triumphant over war, and justice that proves more powerful than greed.”

-Fred “Mister” Rogers

“In prosperity our friends know us; in adversity we know our friends.”

-John Churton Collins

 

“No person is your friend who demands your silence, or denies your right to grow.”

-Alice Walker

 

“A good friend is someone that thinks that you are a good egg

even though he knows you are slightly cracked.”

-Bernard Meltzer

 

“By chance we met, by choice we become friend.”

-Millie Huang

 

Friendship is everything.  Friendship is more than talent.  It is more than the government.  It is almost the equal of family.-Don Corleone”

-Mario Puzo, The Godfather

 

“No man can be called friendless who has God

and the companionship of good books.”

-Elizabeth Barrett Browning

 

“A friend is one that walks in when others walk out.”

-Walter Winchell

 

“I would rather walk with a friend in the dark, than alone in the light.”

-Helen Keller

 

“True friends are like diamonds, so precious and rare. 

Bad friends are like stones and can be found anywhere.”

-Elisabeth Littsey, Original Author Unknown

 

“A good friend is a connection to life – a tie to the past, a road to the future, the key to sanity in a totally insane world.”

-Lois Wyse

 

“Who could refrain that had a heart to love and in that heart the courage to make love known.”

-William Shakespeare

 

“So when you’re cold

From the inside out

And don’t know what to do,

Remember love and friendship,

And warmth will come to you.”

-Stephen Cosgrove, Gnome from Nome

 

Which one(s) was your favorite?  Did any one of them remind you of someone you know?  I will leave it up to you to figure out which was mine.  I would love to read some of your favorite friendship quotes or a thought as to what friendship means to you.  Feel free to post them in the reply section.  The holidays kind of bring out a real need to be close; as a family, with neighbors and friends…childhood friends, school friends…past or present, as lovers.  However you spend your holiday, I hope it will be in the company of friends… “A friend may be waiting behind a stranger’s face.” – Maya Angelou, Letter to My Daughter

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

 

Source: GoodReads http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/friendship

